Holy Names University
HNU Homepage
Student Life
Holy Names University of Facebook
HawkEye - HNU Campus Calendar Associated Students of Holy Names University (ASHNU)
Club Advisor Information Club & Organizations Handbook

Obtain University recognition for your club

Check out the club policy!

Learn, explore and have fun, both inside and outside the classroom. The International Student Services & Campus Events Coordinator collaborates with student clubs and organizations, faculty members, and staff to facilitate: theatre trips, class sponsored events, the annual Thanksgiving dinner, Unity through Diversity month, Hunger and Homelessness week, the Alpha Delta Awards, a wellness yoga series, dances and carnivals.

To propose a club, plan an event or discuss ways to get involved, please contact:

Lauren Avina
International Student Services & Campus Events Coordinator
(510) 436-1356
avina@hnu.edu

Amanda Chavez
Graduate Assistant for Campus Events and Student Activities
(510) 436-1213
chavez@hnu.edu

Active Clubs and Organizations

ASHNU

Associated Students of Holy Names University- student government
Advisor: Lauren Avina & Chiho Sawada
Student Leader Contact: Bryson Joey Morn: Brysonjoey_Morn@my.hnu.edu

Bird’s the Word

HNU’s Newsletter
Advisor: Justin Vacca
Student Leader Contact: Destany Charles: Destany_Charles@my.hnu.edu

Black Student Union (BSU)

Organization uniting students around African American culture
Advisor: Kim Mayfield
Student Leader Contact: Raquel Ross: Raquel_Ross@my.hnu.edu

Drama Club

Organization supporting student interest in the performing arts
Advisor: Dr. Prentiss
Student Leader Contact: Sydnee Leveston: Sydnee_Leveston@my.hnu.edu

Latinos Unidos

Organization uniting students around Latin American culture
Advisor: Martivon Galindo
Student Leader Contact: Maria del Carmen: Carmen_DelgadoRodriguez@my.hnu.edu

Model United Nations (M.U.N.)

Students practice their diplomatic skills and compete with other schools
Advisor: Sr. Chris Patrinos
Student Leader Contact: Tere Hernandez: Tere_Hernandez@my.hnu.edu

Pacific Islanders Club

Organization uniting students around Pacific Island culture
Advisor: Sr. Chris Patrinos
Student Leader Contact: Angeline Banez: Angeline_Banez@my.hnu.edu

Peace and Justice Club

Organization promoting social justice at HNU and the Oakland community
Advisor: Javier de Paz
Student Leader Contact: Maribel Lopez: Maribel_Lopez@my.hnu.edu

R.A.D.I.C.A.L.

Religious organization
Advisor: Sister Sophia
Student Leader Contact: Vernisha Williams: Vernisha_Williams@my.hnu.edu

Red Cross Club

Organization supporting first aid and campus blood drives
Advisor: Gregory Portillo
Student Leader Contact: Cassi Tessandori: Cassi_Tessandori@my.hnu.edu

Student Athletic Advisory

Participants appointed by athletic coaches
Advisor: Omar Sanchez
Student Leader Contact: Joshua Hammer: Joshua_Hammer@my.hnu.edu

Relay for Life

Organization supporting relay for life
Advisor: Justin Vacca
Student Leader Contact: Nicole Ochoa: Nicole_Ochoa@my.hnu.edu

Young Entrepreneur’s Club

Organization dedicated to improving HNU’s campus and services
Advisor: James Stryker
Student Leader Contact: Brianna Horton: Brianna_Horton@my.hnu.edu

Past Clubs and Organizations

2+2 Nursing

Organization for nursing students

A Cappella Club

A group of talented young singers performing without accompaniment

Authentic Love Includes and Values Everyone (ALIVE)

Club dedicated to showing individuals their worth

Blankets for Hope

Group that creates unique, handmade blankets to send hope, support, and gratitude to America's wounded soldiers and veterans

Environmental Club

Group dedicated to helping the environment

Gay Straight Alliance

Organization intended to provide a safe, supportive environment for (LGBTQ) youth and their straight allies.

International Club

Club for international students

Let Your Voice Be Heard

Club dedicated to letting students voice their opinions and concerns about current issues

Music Club

Organization supporting student interest in music

Psych! Club

Club to help Psychology majors succeed at HNU

Residence Hall Association (RHA)

Organization dedicated to meeting the needs of HNU’s residents

Spirit & Cheer Club

Organization dedicated to promoting school spirit

Students for Diversity

Organization dedicated to promoting equality and acceptance at HNU

Women’s Empowerment Club

Group dedicated to empowerment of women

Want to start a new club? Feel like restarting a club of the past? Contact: Amanda Chavez at Chavez@hnu.edu

We are on on Facebook! Follow HNU Student Activities and Events.

▲ Top of Page ▲

Involvement
Learning Communities