Between the Lines

The Celestine Award

Named after Sister Celestine, one of the six founding sisters of Holy Names University, the Celestine Award recognizes exceptional and thought-provoking work in non-fiction poetry. Judges for the Celestine Award are established poets whose works express themes of social justice.


All of the non-fiction poetry collections that are selected for publication in our Third Issue will be considered for the 2016 Celestine Award.

The Celestine Award judge is Achy Obejas, who is Distinguished Visiting Writer at Mills College as well as an award-winning author of poetry, fiction, and journalism.


The winner of the Celestine Award was Zack Rogow for a forthright collection of four non-fiction poems—“Fossils and Fuels: The Evening Commute,” “What the World Needs Now,” “What Do You Think?,” and “There Should Be Unicorns.”

The Celestine Award judge was Jacqueline Berger, who directs the Master of Arts in English program at Notre Dame de Namur University and is a celebrated poet.


The winner of the Celestine Award was Sandra Wassilie for an invigorating collection of three non-fiction poems—“Late Night on Sixteenth Street,” “Out of the West,” and “a theory of natural selection.”

The Celestine Award judge was San Francisco State University Latina/o Studies professor and acclaimed international poet Daisy Zamora.