HNU Logo

We use cookies to personalize content, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. You consent to our use of cookies if you continue to use our website.

HNU Homecoming

Announcing the 49th HNU Alumni Awards

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 49th HNU Alumni Awards.

These individuals embody leadership and service in powerful ways, advancing HNU’s mission through professional excellence, community service, teaching, and activism. The awards recognize their extraordinary contributions to others, and the difference they make every day as representatives of Holy Names University in the world.

Honorees will be celebrated during Homecoming weekend on Friday, September 30 at7:00 p.m., in the Valley Center for the Performing Arts. Registration is now open!

Alumni of the Year

Carroll Fife ’10Oakland City Councilmember, District 3

The unhoused. Small businesses. Mothers. Renters. These are a few of countless many who have benefitted from Carroll’s activism and community involvement. Now a trailblazer on Oakland’s City Council, she continues to be a voice for West Oakland’s voiceless and a warrior for justice.

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Marlow Hooper ’10, Esq.Managing Counsel, Toyota North America

A standout in the first decade of his legal career, Marlow is licensed in four states, was named to the National Black Lawyers Top 40 Under 40 for New Mexico, and currently serves as in-house counsel for Toyota North America. He also finds time to mentor and advise current HNU students considering careers in law.

Outstanding Faculty Award

Dr. Sophia Park, SNJMAssociate Professor, Religious Studies & Philosophy

At HNU since 2009, Sr. Sophia is an accomplished religious studies scholar, a leader among faculty, an inspiration to her students, a caring ambassador for the SNJM charism, and an active contributor to the HNU and SNJM communities.

The University wishes to recognize and thank the members of the HNU Alumni Awards selection committee: Felicia Duncan ’01, MBA ’04; Maureen Hester, SNJM ’57; Helen Raines-Austin ’04; and Terry Scott ’87.

Questions about the HNU Alumni Awards? Contact Kelsey Lindquist, Director of Alumni & Donor Relations, at (510) 436-1245 or 

Ready to Register? CLICK HERE